5

Erika, thank you for taking time to leave us a 5 star review! We appreciate it! :)

- European Autowerks
5

I never leave reviews but the customer service was awesome! They managed to squeeze my service in before I left town and every single employee I spoke with was very pleasant to talk to. I will never go back to the dealer again.

3

I would not recommend European Autowerks due to their cost. They asked me to approve a repair without providing an estimate on the cost. ---They charged a full hour to diagnose an underbody noise that was an obvious inner fender-liner / splash shield into the tire - $178, their hourly rate. ---They recommended service on my air filters without visually looking at them. There are better service providers than this at much lower cost.

4

They did a good job but A bit pricey... Let's see how they do on my other vehicle...today

Tony, thank you for taking time to leave us a review! We're so grateful for the opportunity to serve you and both of your vehicles! We hope that you can trust you are receiving the highest level of customer care and auto repair around from our genuine staff and ASE Certified Technicians. We look forward to serving you again for any future repairs that arise!

- European Autowerks
5

3

A bit disappointed. Did the job required. However back seat has a rip in it that was not there before, front passenger seat has 2 large dents that were not there before, fob key does not close and remote of fob does not work. Front desk assures me that the seat issues would never happen on their watch, but they weren't there before.

5

Very professional with great customer care

4

Fred, thank you for your review! We hope you come back and see us so we can serve you with a 5 star experience!

- European Autowerks
1

If I could give 0 stars I would. I called and made an appointment for the following week, which was suggested by their scheduler because they would have loaner vehicles back by then. On the day of the appointment they did not have loaner vehicles, could not be flexible with schedule, were condescending and rude (called me irresponsible for not making alternate transportation plans when I would have if I was given proper information), then said "oh well we fired the scheduler" and cancelled my appointment. This is the worst customer service I have ever experienced at a repair shop.

Hi, Lauren. We are sorry you feel you had a bad experience in our shop. We apologize for any inconvenience it may have caused you to not have a loaner car available. As we mentioned previously, those are a hot commodity and we cannot always guarantee them. Our notes show that a service advisor let you know yesterday we might have a loaner vehicle available for use today, but it was not a promise. We genuinely hope that you are able to find a shop that can accommodate your needs and we wish you nothing but the very best on your auto repair journey!

- European Autowerks
5

I had a wonderful experience with him to my surprise they are really cheaper that the dealer I will be using them again

Pat, thank you for your 5 star review! We're so glad to hear you had a wonderful experience in our shop! We look forward to you coming back for any future services! We'll be happy to help! :) See you then!

- European Autowerks
European Autowerks – Virginia Beach is committed to ensuring effective communication and digital accessibility to all users. We are continually improving the user experience for everyone, and apply the relevant accessibility standards to achieve these goals. We welcome your feedback. Please call European Autowerks (757) 490-7471 if you have any issues in accessing any area of our website.